In the United States, the requirements vary according to the state. If you want to be a professional, you need Georgia Auction License. The companies willing to participate online need a permit as well. The Auctioneers Commission is an agency handling it.
To file a request is not that hard if you have sufficient skills. Of course, working in this area requires some knowledge of how to handle transactions and deals. Thus, any person has to pass a course and take an exam. This is a must in Georgia. It is important to choose an authorized school. The courses, however, may vary according to content and length.
If it is a car auction or any other, there is a strict procedure on how to apply. Bear in mind that the penalty for unlicensed practice is $250.
Before applying, check the type of auction license that you need. The documents you have to collect vary. If you passed an exam in the past, the process will be easier. In this case, you apply for licensure by examination.
As mentioned before, the applicant has to be educated in this area. Thus, passing a course in the approved school is a must. A certificate is one of the documents required by the Commission.
First of all, you have to enroll in the program and pay the tuition. Later on, you get a certificate and are ready for an exam. You have to request approval to test your skills. There is a PSI platform where you can pass it.
Once approved, you will get the necessary information. Now you have just to schedule it and pay $70. The test lasts 90 minutes, and you are free to take it online.
So, imagine you have good test results. Now let’s go ahead with the application. It seems that there are too many papers to collect. However, the guide on Commission’s website is easy to use. You have just to follow all the rules.
Here are the main requirements:
All applicants also undergo a background check. Thus, you sign a form authorizing to check your criminal history record. If you had a license in another state, you may file a request as well. You just provide the above-mentioned papers and out-of-state permit verification.
Once your checklist is ready, you upload all documents online. The processing period for applications is 15 business days. The Board evaluates each one. Subsequently, the time may be different based on individual circumstances. Be ready to get your application back if it is incomplete. The ideal time is to send it at least 15 days before the Board meeting. Otherwise, you’ll have to wait until the next meeting.
In addition to the portal, there is an address to file papers by mail:
237 Coliseum Drive
Macon, Georgia 31217
If you still have questions, you can contact the Commission by email.
Those willing to apply online will pay a fee of $5. The processing fee for mailing in their request is $10. In addition, there is a non-refundable charge of $200. Another one that goes to a recovery fund is $250.
The renewal is less expensive. The process begins 90 days prior to the date your permit expires. There is also an online procedure for this. Follow the instructions on the portal and pay $150. That’s it, now you can continue working legally.
Visit our Georgia Business License page to learn more about doing business in this state.