Georgia Security License

Georgia Security License

Becoming a security officer in Georgia can be as simple if you know all the rules & regulations the state demands. That is where this piece of writing should come in handy to explore all the terms, exams, and training necessary for getting a Georgia security license. Moreover, this article will walk you through the application process. Besides, it talks about the main queries you may have such as fees, interchanges, and much more. So, without further ado, let’s start.

Eligibility for Unarmed Guards

Although the government does not anticipate much, they should follow some guidelines. Here are the principal standards before you apply:

  • Be a US citizen or a permanent resident
  • Be at least 18
  • Possess a high school diploma (or comparable certification)
  • Pass a background check
  • Finish the primary 24-hour preparation courses

To perform this curriculum, you should have an accredited instructor. If you wish to find a professional licensee, you should visit the verification webpage. The twenty-four-hour program teaches subjects such as:

  • Role of position
  • Responding to different incidents
  • Patrol techniques and observations
  • Legal aspects
  • Resources
  • Interpersonal communication skills

Georgia Security License Requirements for Armed Officers

If you decide to be a defender and have firearms, you should also finalize the shotgun sessions. They are apart from the regular obligations. These next factors are expected to be fulfilled:

  • Be a US citizen
  • Be at least 18 years old
  • Have related experience
  • Have a diploma or relevant credentials
  • Submit your fingerprints
  • Obtain an authentication of your classes (should accomplish this annually)
  • Handgun study completion with a score of at least 80% accuracy

You should present proof of the above-mentioned conditions. For example, your ID, copies of the tests, etc. To acquire a rifle, the employer should fill in the Weapon Permit form. The manager should clearly declare the reasons why their employee must carry a gun. The sum you should pay is $70.

Licensure for Georgian Companies

If you aspire to operate your own enterprise, you should learn about all the specs set by the authority. Here are the necessities to have the authorization:

  • US citizenship
  • Being at least eighteen
  • A total absence of any felony
  • Have 2+ more expertise as a supervisor or admin in similar operations or law enforcement
  • Earned BA degree in criminal justice or related field
  • Pass the specified examination on PSI
  • Purchase $25,000 surety bond or have a financial statement indicating fifty thousand dollar net worth
  • Payment of all processing charges

The cost to hold a certificate for private or in-house businesses would be $500. Additionally, you should also hand in the request value of $100. Further firm licensing details could be viewed on the Information Sheet.

Renewal and Continuing Education Audit

Agents should complete 8 hours of CE before the expiration date. To renew your registration, go to the Online Services on the SOS page. It is also possible to refresh your permission via FAX: 866.888.8026. You may send the documentation to this email: [email protected].


According to the official website, you are not allowed to transfer your license from another state to Georgia. The only exception is detectives from certain places. Otherwise, you should correspond with the standards of this job.

Mary H

Mary H

Being a skilled creative writer and SEO content writer, with 2+ years of experience I can't imagine any other profession to fulfill my life as much as writing does. As a proud member of geek culture, I enjoy reading, writing, watching Sci-Fi gems, while also advocating the involvement of young, bright-minded girls and women in STEM research. Latter was largely the result of working at UNESCO Chair, Life Sciences International Postgraduate Educational Center as an editor of scientific journals.